Saturday Evening Posts

Wet leaves

I really want to get back in the habit of doing these regularly.

These aren’t all necessarily from the last week, but they’re not terribly old yet.

  • Read Write Web, 10 Tips for Using Evernote Effectively. Sigh. I often feel like I’m being haphazard on the web, with my multiple bookmarking utilities and links I’ve favorited on Twitter and Google Reader. I keep meaning to be more thoughtful and deliberate about it, but it doesn’t seem like a fun task. Anyway, I always have Evernote in the back of my mind. I may even have an account I’ve forgotten about. In case any of you feel this way – and are more inclined to actually do something about it than I – this article may interest you.
  • Law Librarian Blog, The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore. I was intrigued by this when it won an Oscar. I think that was the only part of the Academy Awards I saw this year. I guess you can see the whole thing here online, although I think I might see if it’s streaming on Netflix or something where I can watch it with a better picture.
  • RIPS Law Librarian Blog, Powerpoints, Screenshots and Legal Research Training as a Team. Discussion about the virtues of “live” teaching vs. teaching with screenshots on Powerpoint slides. I’m of the “live” persuasion. It seems more realistic, though of course the chances of something being down or otherwise going wrong are heightened (adding to the realism!). Also, I can’t imagine creating a 100-slide presentation. Although I do note her point that doing so gives the students a ready-made handout for their notes. My slides are not terribly useful to students after the class, I fear. Or maybe I don’t? It cuts both ways; perhaps then they pay more attention during the class.
  • Pegasus Librarian, Teaching a Session After They’ve Written the Paper. Another post on teaching. How intriguing:

    They need to know that the research process isn’t linear anyway, so let’s really and truly demonstrate going back to the research steps after having thought critically about their papers.

    She’s a reference librarian at an undergrad institution (my undergrad institution, by-the-by), so I don’t know if it would work as well in law school, but the idea of coming to the students after they’ve written a draft is interesting. It may better address the “time of need” problem. It’s certainly better than talking to them about research before they’ve even picked a topic.

  • Tech Tools for the Practice of Law, Research Guide Examples. This is my library director’s blog for the class he’s currently teaching. I starred it in Google Reader because I like to have student examples on hand. These are examples from another prof’s Advanced Legal Research class; she had the students create LibGuides on a variety of topics – and they are now publicly available on the library’s website.

Happy Saturday! We’re having gorgeous weather here this week, so perhaps I’ll have more photos to post later.

Leave a Reply

