Morning postpocalypse

Peep!Think of me, teaching my class while you’re perusing these posts!

  • In the “Useful copyright information” division: Grace Bonney, Design*Sponge, How to credit an image in your blog. Via @sglassmeyer, who is awesome. I will probably stick to posting images I have created myself, like the lovely photo to the left.
  • In the “Super-secret-searching division”: Duckduckgo.com, a search engine that doesn’t track you. Via @broegge (who has a private account, and thus you may not be able to see the tweet). While I rail quite a bit on Google for its invasions of privacy, I kinda like the fact that my searches are saved. I’ve gone back to my search history several times when I can’t remember exactly how I found something (apparently I’m of the “do as I say, not as I do” school of thought when it comes to keeping a research trail. At least when I’m doing non-important research). But! Sometimes you don’t want a trail!
  • In the “I was hoping this would have more pictures” division: Elizabeth Fish, PCWorld, Inside the mind of a Lego Photographer. I love Legos. I can’t wait until AG is old enough for them. A fun little interview, but best of all, they link to the photographer’s photos on Flickr! He has an awesome set called “Classics in Lego,” where he re-creates classic photographs in Lego form. I love the Salvador Dali one!
  • In the “I want a baby elephant” division: Baylor and Tupelo playing in a kiddie pool.
  • In the “Disgusting but cute” division: Diana Adams, Bit Rebels, How to Make Marshmallow Peep Sushi. Really, what more needs to be said?
  • In the “Am I missing something, or are there are lots of ways around this?” division: Marie S. Newman, Out of the Jungle, “The Times Paywall Finally Goes Up.” So the New York Times is going to limit the number of free stories you can read, but stories that you access via other sources, such as Facebook or Twitter, won’t count against that limit. Upon reading this, I immediately started following @nytimes on Twitter. Now, of course, I don’t know how many of their stories get promoted on Twitter, but that still seems like the way to go to me. (And if you don’t want to have a Twitter account, you can subscribe to their Twitter account’s RSS feed).

Happy Friday, all!

Leave a Reply

