Tuesday into Wednesday …

Bridge at Mt. Rainier II

Haven’t felt like posting much since I got back. I’m sure I’ll get into the swing of things again eventually (although maybe posting every day was never sustainable for me), but until then …

The theme this morning is compare/contrast.

I have such a love/hate relationship with Google. At ASIL, one of the attendees was talking about how she didn’t trust Facebook for its privacy intrusions, and “that was why she liked Google.” I didn’t have the time to question her on this; it’s pretty clear to me that Google tracks everything you do when logged into a Google account and tries to market accordingly.

Tech Progress had an interesting post tangentially on this topic the other day: You’re Not Google’s Customer – You’re the Product. It’s viewing the issue through an antitrust lens, but I think it gives a new twist on looking at some of these privacy concerns. @kashhill tweeted to something similar yesterday (not on the antitrust question, but part of my own Google/social media dilemma): techdirt’s Is It A Privacy Violation For Companies To Make Inferences About What You Might Like?

The most head-scratching reference request I received Tuesday night: “How much do you think that Wal-Mart class action case is worth?”

One response

  1. Glad you got that question Tuesday night! Thanks for the switch. (P.S. The last link in your post isn’t working for me…the URL at the bottom seems correct, but when I click, it takes me back to your blog post (or a 404).

Leave a Reply

