Run, Forrest, Run!

Okay, so I thought I would try WordPress’s WorldWide 5K on Sunday, so I need to figure out a 5K route. I installed a app on my phone that tracks these sorts of things (iMapMyRun, per WordPress’s suggestion). It’s pretty cool – you get milage, MPH, elevation, etc., and you can save it so you know weekly totals or whatever. There’s more that you can do with it, but that’s probably all I’ll do with it. Don’t worry, I didn’t start or end it at my house.

My map is shown above. Although iMapMyRun gives you code to embed the more robust map into a blog, WordPress doesn’t allow for iframe embedding (they have their reasons, which seem appropriate to me; although apparently there are plugins you can install to get around this). Anywho, I was pretty proud of myself for figuring out how to export the iMap map into Google maps, and then embed that map here.

You probably don’t care about any of this.

My run this morning was nice. The snow is almost all melted, so I can run in the grass, which is better for my knees. It’s not too hot, not too cold. I started at about 8:45 (AG miraculously got up at 7:45 today, so I could get her to school and then take a run before I had to go to work), so there weren’t too many other people out (I try to avoid other dogs).

The iMap feature does not tell you how much more difficult a run is, or how many more calories you burn, if you are effectively dragging a 65-pound boulder along behind you. Nuala is becoming less receptive to jogging with me. I do have to cut her some slack, she’s going to be 11 this year, but I’ve seen her take off in the woods at a much more accelerated speed than I tend to go, so …

If you want to check out the more robust map of my run, go here:  iMapMyRun: Apr 05, 2011 09:14 AM. The run was not, alas, 3.2 miles. So I’m going to have to figure out a different one. Also, the MPH of this might be a bit off, as I didn’t pause the app (although I could have) when I had to stop to pick up poop or whatever. In addition to being draggy, Nuala likes to roll around in the little bits of crusty snow that are left, so there was a fair amount of little stops that we had to make.

Nuala in the snow

Leave a Reply

