Library Day in the Life, Day 3

We came, we saw, we wexed*

So, my spouse read yesterday’s post and declared it too boring for him to read any more posts. If you felt like that, you should just stop right now because yesterday was a thrill-a-minute compared to today. (On another note, I should come up with something fun to call my spouse on my blog. Like how Meg Cabot calls her spouse “He who shall not be named on this blog” on her blog. Until I come up with something, I shall call him “Paul”).

But I digress.

Today, as usual, I started my day going through email and alerts and current awareness items, looking for things that might be interesting to professors or students. Among the things of interest that I passed along:

I worked some on a libguide for the Law Review. I don’t usually have problems creating content for LibGuides, but this one – straddling the need to tell Law Review students about library polices that are unique to Law Review, telling them how to properly cite articles (which requires some instruction on how to find articles they’re citing), and how to use some of the databases they might find useful – all in a concise, easy-to-understand manner – is proving difficult.

I was on the reference desk this afternoon. We didn’t have many patrons, but we did have a few towards the end of my shift (in the summer the reference desk closes at 5:00). They included:

  • A librarian at the state law library wanting to know if we still kept an old pocket part for a book (we didn’t),
  • A student doing family law research for one of the clinics, and
  • A public patron wanting to know how to do Minnesota legislative history. I love legislative history, even though it’s usually a crap shoot – people always think they’re going to find a smoking gun and you almost never do. But it’s like a treasure hunt, and I find it fun. The Minnesota Legislative History Library has an incredibly wonderful guide on how to do legislative history in Minnesota. If your law is newer, you can do it all online! (Unfortunately for this patron, it was an older law. Fortunately for her, however, it didn’t have any amendments, so there was only one bill she had to follow. Unfortunately for her, it was an omnibus bill, which are always long, tricky, and tedious).

And that was basically my day, boiled down to the highlights!

*Perhaps you are wondering what this particular image has to do with anything I’ve written today. It doesn’t. I didn’t take any library photos today, and I just don’t like having a blog post without a picture. And it was either this or a bowl of potatoes which I thought would make an interesting photo, but which really didn’t.

Anywhoo, if you’re interested, this picture is of a t-shirt that I got during my sophomore year in college (1989-90, which information I’m only giving so that you can marvel at how well I treat my clothes). We had a really fun group of people on my floor in the dorm (Third Floor, Goodhue Dorm, Carleton College) and we had t-shirts made for all of us. One of us (not me) created this image, which was the front of the t-shirt. All of our names – including the nicknames that various members of the floor had created for us – were written on the back.

“Veni vidi vexi,” is, of course, a play on “Veni vidi vici,” a phrase reputedly uttered by Julius Caesar upon besting Pharnaces. “Wex” is, I’m made to understand, an ultimate frisbee term. Despite having gone to Carleton and living my sophomore year with a bunch of people who were obsessed with it, I never liked the game. Probably because I was am lazy and sucked at it.

Every year when I put away my winter clothes, go through my spring clothes, and get rid of things, I say to myself that I should get rid of this shirt. But I just can’t.

Leave a Reply

