NaBloPoMo Day 3

NaBloPoMo Writing Prompt for Thursday, November 3, 2011:
Can you listen to music and write? What song did you hear today?

Whether I can listen to music and write (I assume they mean “at the same time”) depends on the music and whatever it is I’m writing.

If I am listening to music that is distracting, and I’m trying to write something that needs my full attention, that’s not a good mix. But I can usually listen to classical music and work on just about anything – although not always. Sometimes I simply have to turn of the sound and concentrate. And if my work/writing is more captivating than the music, I can listen to just about anything and hardly notice it.

Today, like most days, I primarily listened to the Current. On my way to work, I heard Cat Stevens’ “If You Want to Sing Out, Sing Out,” which, of course, made me think of Harold and Maude, so that’s a nice way to start the work day. When I got to work, although I had the Current streaming on my computer, I forgot to turn my speakers on. Which (I now see, looking back on the day’s playlist), was too bad, because I missed some goodies: Mariachi El Bronx’s “48 Roses” (although they play that one a lot these days), Michael Franti and Spearhead’s “Say Hey (I Love You),” Plastic Bertrand’s “Ca Plane Pour Moi.” However, perhaps it’s just as well; those three songs would all have made me want to get up and dance, rather than concentrate on tracking down free versions of law review articles for a professor’s class.

I suppose I could always hook up my iPod or get my Spotify playlists all squared away so that I could listen to whatever I want, whenever I want, but I like the spontaneity of the radio. Plus, with the Current, I get introduced to new artists (and some old ones that I didn’t know about) that I would otherwise miss.

As I write right now, I’m listening to Elizabeth Mitchell over the baby monitor as it plays in my daughter’s bedroom to lull her to sleep. And that’s kind of what it’s doing for me, too, so … good night.

Leave a Reply

