Worth Reading this Weekend

Things that caught my eye this week:

Always looking for cute vegan shoes. Really like the examples they have from “Beyond Skin” and “Form and Fauna.” Alas, one of the brands is in the U.K. (and I can’t seem to find that particular shoe there), and the other designer doesn’t sell on her website. She has some really cute things, though. I also like this pump. Oh, who am I kidding? I never learned to walk in high heels. I’m unlikely to wear them even if I could get my hands on ’em. Still, so cute! More items to clip for my Polyvore sets.

Another blog to add to my RSS Reader! The National Law Journal’s Law School Review:

Rising tuition. Misleading employment statistics. Inadequate skills training. Law schools have faced plenty of criticism for their role in the struggles of young lawyers today. The National Law Journal has assembled a panel of legal educators and law graduates to discuss whether law schools are facing a crisis, and how they should respond to their mounting problems.

I lost a whole afternoon and evening just reading the “catch-ups” from 1660-64. Am now trying to decide if I should get it at the library, or just follow along here.

Pan grimly concluded that students aren’t assessing information sources on their own merit—they’re putting too much trust in the machine.

Other studies have found the same thing: High school and college students may be “digital natives,” but they’re wretched at searching. In a recent experiment at Northwestern, when 102 undergraduates were asked to do some research online, none went to the trouble of checking the authors’ credentials.

“The big thing in assessing search results is authorship—who put it there and why have they put it there?”

The enchanting story of a man who taught his cat to instant message. Wackiness ensues. “CAPS LOCK IS HOW I FEEL INSIDE RICK ALL THE TIME.”

My first reaction is that HBC is way too young to play Miss Havisham (as apparently was the reaction of Tom & Lorenzo). However, several people have commented that Miss Havisham was really only 50, and that HBC is 45. I am now leafing through my dusty, brittle, much-loved old copy of Great Expectations to see if this is the case. Her age is not mentioned in Pip’s first meeting of her:

But, I saw that everything within my view which ought to be white, had been white long ago, and had lost its lustre, and was faded and yellow. I saw that the bride within the bridal dress had withered like the dress, and like the flowers, and had no brightness left but the brightness of her sunken eyes. I saw that the dress had been put upon the rounded figure of a young woman, and that the figure upon which it now hung loose, had shrunk to skin and bone. Once, I had been taken to see some ghastly waxwork at the Fair, representing I know not what impossible personage lying in state. Once, I had been taken to one of our old marsh churches to see a skeleton in the ashes of a rich dress, that had been dug out of a vault under the church pavement. Now, waxwork and skeleton seemed to have dark eyes that moved and looked at me. I should have cried out, if I could.

Well, that doesn’t really sound like HBC to me, either, even if they are about the same chronological age. Still, the set and costume look amazing, and she is a good actress. And I’m sure she can do that whole bitter, vengeful Havisham thing justice.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

