Work/Life Balance – NaBloPoMo Day 7

Monday, November 7, 2011
Making family time is important to me. How do you balance your children, relationship, and work life?
(Guest Post by Ricki Lake, who can be found on
Facebook or Twitter @RickiLakeShow)


Ugh. Work/life/family balance discussion. If I could think of anything else to write about right now, I surely would, because, really, what hasn’t somebody else written about this? Surely it’s a staple of every Mommy blog, and probably most parenting blogs in general. And, honestly, it’s not like parents have a monopoly in trying to figure this out. Everybody has things they’d rather be doing than work on their career or their relationships (and let’s be honest here, too, that we are talking working on our familial relationships and not just hanging out and having fun with our loved ones, although that’s part of it, as well), right? Because “work” – whether it’s for-pay or not – is not all fun and games.

But … I just put a very angry toddler to bed (angry because she refused to throw her clothes down the clothes chute, and the punishment for this infraction was that she would not get stories read to her). This tantrum concluded a day that consisted of, among other things: waking up at 6:30 in the morning to feed my elderly, ailing cat, walking the dogs shortly after that, talking said toddler to the dentist, dropping her off at daycare, putting in a 6-hour work day (I’m like a waltz here, at 3/4 time – which I realize makes me extremely lucky), then meeting spouse, picking up toddler at daycare, going out to dinner (at a place near the place we went on Saturday night so that we could retrieve the sippy cup left at the latter restaurant), and then playing various games of pretend with said toddler, spouse, and dogs in the living room (and I know the day was no easier for my spouse, by the way; the one un-snarky thing I have to say about this topic is it unquestionably helps to have a spouse that takes on his/her share of the duties). I’m too tired to come up with a more engaging topic.

So, you know, I expect the answer to the question posed above is: “Not very well.”

Leave a Reply

