Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam

The spam comments my blog gets (which WordPress helpfully “protects” me from – 189 of them as of today!) are hilarious and bewildering. I can’t figure out why the spammers would think anyone with half a brain would ever click on the links (although there aren’t always links, which confuses me even more – I guess they want me to click on their username?). There is absolutely no connection, as far as I can see, between the spam comment and the post to which the comment is, well, commenting. 

A sampling, for your enjoyment:

“Thanks , I have just been searching for information about this topic for ages and yours is the best I have discovered till now. But, what about the conclusion? Are you sure in regards to the supply?”

The who in the what now? I couldn’t adequately respond to this, even if I wanted to.

“very good put up, i definitely love this website, keep on it”

Will do, sir or ma’am, will do.

“This is getting a bit more subjective, but I much prefer the Zune Marketplace. The interface is colorful, has more flair, and some cool features like ‘Mixview’ that let you quickly see related albums, songs, or other users related to what you’re listening to. Clicking on one of those will center on that item, and another set of “neighbors” will come into view, allowing you to navigate around exploring by similar artists, songs, or users. Speaking of users, the Zune “Social” is also great fun, letting you find others with shared tastes and becoming friends with them. You then can listen to a playlist created based on an amalgamation of what all your friends are listening to, which is also enjoyable. Those concerned with privacy will be relieved to know you can prevent the public from seeing your personal listening habits if you so choose.”

Wouldn’t this one have made more sense on NaBloPoMo Day 3? At least, though, I see the point of this. This ‘bot wants me to visit the Zune Marketplace – assuming it actually exists – and, one presumes, make a purchase. This is an ad. It just has nothing to do with my post.

  • on Dress Up (another Fashion Friday post, this time for Halloween):

“I was extremely pleased to find this webpage.I desired to say thanks for the time for this amazing post!! I’m unquestionably making the most of every small little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new things that you may submit on your weblog.”

So glad you’re finding “every small little bit” of my blog useful! Wring it out, I say! Don’t let it go to waste!

I do have to say that most of the comments are generally grammatically correct and don’t sound like they started out life in Chinese, then spit through Google translate into French, and then translated by a toddler in a French immersion daycare.

Except for this one:

“The following is a message…

I do believe that is on the list of this sort of a lot vital infofor meAndi am glad studyingthe reportYet wanna measureinsome common concerns, Theweb page tastewill begreat, the particular content posts is actuallytruly excellent DJust right process, m…”

Yeah, dude. The web page taste will be great.

Leave a Reply

