Mr. Darcy’s Daughters

Books

A friend of mine recently posted to Facebook that she’d read a certain number of books in 2011, and she thanked Library Thing for making it easy to keep track of them. I thought it might be fun in 2012 to keep tracks of the books that I read, so I signed up for an account.

Yes, it’s another social media thing. But plenty of people keep track of the books that they read, right? I often wish that my library kept track of the books that I read, so I could remember them. (Don’t tell anyone I said that! It’s strict librarian code to keep people’s reading habits a big secret!) Seriously, though, libraries don’t do this, so that Big Brother can’t ask them to turn over people’s reading lists. Still, for those of us that don’t care whether Big Brother knows what we read, and only want to keep track of their books, it’d be an easy solution, since it’s pretty much were I get all my books now.

ANYWAY, I read one of the books yesterday, and I thought maybe I could write a review of it for the benefit of y’all. (Don’t expect me to do this with all the books I read this year. Mostly because I don’t want to admit what kind of trash I read most of the time.)

Okay! So yesterday’s book was Mr. Darcy’s Daughters, by Elizabeth Aston. It’s basically a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, 20+ years after that book ends (the back of the book says 20 years, but the oldest daughter is 21, and come on! You know that no daughter of Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy would be 21 only 20 years after the wedding!). The Darcys have 5 daughters (and two small sons. You’d think, based on her experiences with her sisters, that Elizabeth wouldn’t really want that many children, but oh well). The daughters are all staying with relatives in London. Mr. and Mrs. Darcy are in Constantinople, of all places, and never appear in the book. Which is probably for the best, because their kids’ exploits would’ve driven them both mad. Think “Risky Business” circa 1818.

There was a lot more intrigue than in P & P. There are some downright Dangerous Liaisons-type scenes that just seem kind of out-of-place, as delightful as it is when evil schemers get their comeuppance. This just isn’t as subtle as the original’s study of manners.

Also, some of the sisters are just not what I have pictured in my mind when I think about Elizabeth and Darcy’s offspring (although, come to think of it, I don’t think I ever thought about Elizabeth and Darcy’s offspring before). I suppose it’s ridiculous to assume that all of Elizabeth’s daughters would be as awesome as she is, but honestly, three of the five are simply absurd. Like, Mr. Collins- and Lydia-levels of absurd.

Still, the book was fun. I think it works best if you try to forget that it’s supposed to be a sequel; of course it’s bound to pale in comparison.

Have you read it? What did you think? And what are you all reading so far this year?

Leave a Reply

