Random thoughts and weekend round-up

IMG_1568
It’s my anniversary weekend! Spousal unit and I got hitched 12 years ago tomorrow. To celebrate, we’re dropping AG off at my parents and going to see The Avengers, ‘cuz we’re romantics like that.

Still have not gotten my IFTTT recipe for posting blog posts directly from Flickr photos the way I want it yet. It keeps wanting to make the photo too wide for the theme that I’ve chosen. I suppose I could change my theme, but that seems like too much work right now.

I finished and turned in my book review on Tuesday, so I feel like I have a lot more time on my hands to read. I’m finding myself drawn to all the other books out there about Supreme Court law clerks. As I suggest in my book review, for something allegedly so secretive, there are a lot of such books out there. I’ll let you know which is the juiciest.

Meanwhile, here are some things that caught my eye this week:

  • Ecouterre, Charlize Theron Wears Dress Made With Beetle Wings in “Snow White and the Huntsman”.

    Trimmed with thousands of discarded jewel-beetle wings from Thailand, where the insect is a delicacy, the dress is a brittle, decaying carapace that mirrors Queen Ravena’s own physical and psychological deterioration.

    As an entomophobic, this kind of grosses me out. But it’s also sort of beautiful.

  • ReadWriteWeb, 9 Photo Filter Apps to Enhance Your Mobile Photography. I’ll basically get any photo app Read Write Web tells me to (I’m not downloading the Facebook photo app, though. That just seems stupid).
  • GeekMom, Battle of the iPhone Cases. Just ‘cuz.
  • ReadWriteWeb, Mary Meeker Re-Imagines Nearly Everything. Bits and pieces from a presentation at the D10 Conference (I have no idea what that is) on internet trends.
  • Free Range Librarian DPLA West: It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s an API!. I subscribe to a few “regular” librarian-type blogs (read: public library, rather than law library), and I always feel like I should be paying more attention than I do to what’s going on in that realm – especially with regards to eBooks. Even if I don’t work in a public library, I use one pretty much every week. This post is about the Digital Public Library of America movement.

    The event displayed “a cacophony of wildly disparate visions.” Stakeholders were not in agreement on “the whatness of the thing,” to use an old literary expression, nor were they aware of this.

    As became clear in the discussions, what public libraries (ahem — real public libraries) want, for the most part, is the ability to purchase/license and share current ebook titles: the much-coveted product of the Big Six publishers. They want Hunger Games, not someone’s pre-1923 travelogue. The think-tank nerds want government documents digitized (and who can disagree with that, even though it’s not the top priority for public libraries). The developers want an amazing tool, and so on.

  • The Tangential, What It Means To Be 36. I am … a little bit older than 36, but this post resonated with me and how I’ve been feeling lately.

    [At 36,] I’m now just six years younger than Alan Alda’s character in The Four Seasons. I sure don’t feel nearly as old as he does, and I don’t think I’m the only 30-something who feels that way. In fact, I know it: in a recent New Inquiry post, Autumn Whitefield-Madrano considers the changing face of 36, which is her age as well as mine. The header graphic for the post shows three women at the age of 36: Anne Bancroft as Mrs. Robinson (!) in The Graduate, Phylicia Rashad as Clair Huxtable in The Cosby Show, and Reese Witherspoon today. Not only do today’s 36-year-olds feel younger than Clair Huxtable and a lot younger than Mrs. Robinson, Whitefield-Madrano points out, they’re still treated as young in pop culture.

    Every 30-something has surely felt a version of what Whitefield-Madrano describes: a weird sense that 36 is “supposed” to look and feel older than it does.

    When my mom was my age, she had a 16-year old. I, on the other hand, still often feel like I don’t really know what I’m going to do with my life!

With that parting thought, I’m off to get ready to celebrate my marriage by seeing a movie about a bunch of comic book superheroes.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

