Hot Cinnamon Spice

Hot Cinnamon Spice

Welcome to another edition of “Tea for Tuesdays.” Today I’m reviewing “Hot Cinnamon Spice” by Harney & Sons. I was really looking forward to this tea, as I love cinnamon. (And spice. And everything nice, really).

The loose tea smells absolutely amazing. Spicy, strong, and just like fall. The first time I tasted the tea, however, I was a little disappointed. It doesn’t smell quite as good to me brewed (I don’t know why that is – the cinnamon scent isn’t as pungent brewed), and it didn’t taste quite like I expected.

After a couple of cups, I’ve kind of come around. I think I was preparing myself for something like the Good Earth tea (which I absolutely love, plebeian though it may be – I told you I like my tea sweet!), but the Harney & Sons has a definite note of orange in it, where I think I was preparing myself for apple. Or something like that, anyway. Maybe I’ll find me some apple tea and combine the two …

Hot Cinnamon Spice

Notice my cup doesn’t look the same color as the tea on the Harney site. Of course, there are numerous differences in the level of photography here, too, but their brewed tea looks much lighter than mine, and more yellow. Did I brew it too long, or make it with too much tea? That’s a definite possibility. My second cup with the same grounds was much lighter in color, but still not as yellow. And (to be expected, for sure), it’s not nearly as strong. If I re-use the grounds again on this tea I’ll be adding some more to the second cup. I didn’t add any sugar or milk to this tea, any of the times I tried it, and I don’t think they would’ve added anything to it, though perhaps I should give that a shot (well, probably not the milk. I don’t like milk with citrus).

I still think few things on earth smell better than these loose leaves. I wish we had smell-o-vision on our computers; you’d be in for a treat.

Hot Cinnamon Spice

One response

Leave a Reply

